By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience.


Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) Checklist

Lettings agents, property managers and landlords should all be aware of the Homes (Fitness for Human Habitation) Act 2018. The Act is using the 29 hazards listed in the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) to help define the categories that determine whether a house is "fit for human habitation".

The list had originally been created in 2006 to help local authorities enforce conditions in the private rented sector, but is now a list that lettings agents, property managers and landlords also need to be aware of as far as the safety and fitness for human habitation of their properties are concerned.

Each hazard is assessed separately and can be classed as either Category 1 or Category 2. A hazard is classed as Category 1 if it is deemed a serious and immediate risk to a person’s health and safety. If a hazard is deemed less serious or less urgent, it is classed as Category 2.


A HHSRS hazard checklist for landlords and agents to use when they need to ensure a property is fit for human habitation can be found here.

Use Fixflo and automate compliance today!

Join the conversation


Please login to comment

MovePal MovePal MovePal